4 Mile Personal Record!!!

Today has been a great morning so far! I ran 4 miles and got my personal best time!

IMG_1024

I started running back in Mid-April. I wasn’t very serious about my running until June. June was when I decided to truly get back into running so I signed up for a 10K, which was at the end of June, and a Half Marathon, which isn’t until the last Saturday in August. I was doing pretty good with my training and my previous 4 mile time was an hour.

This week with Ragnar only 2 weeks away I decided I need to do some serious changes in order to be able to complete my three legs of Ragnar. I’m working on eating healthy, that is a constant struggle for me. I also ran a 2 mile run on monday and a 3 mile run on wednesday. Today when I took Maisy outside I decided it was so beautiful I had to go for 4 miles today.

Maisy after our run together on Wednesday

Maisy after our run together on Wednesday

More on Maisy later…. I PROMISE!!!!

Back to the personal record….. So today I set out to run 4 miles and dropped my time by 5 minutes! Yay me. My 4 mile route has a few hills, which always slow me down to a walk. For the first hill I counted threw it… back to band days 1,2,3,4  2,2,3,4  3,2,3,4 and so on. I did this over and over in my head until I was at the top of the hill, YAY!! Then I let myself walk up the last 2 hills. Baby steps to running success.

I do think that a couple products that I just started using are also helping. The first is GNC’s Pro-Sculpt drink mix. I started drinking it every morning right when I wake up. I just started on Monday and today I could tell the difference. I learned about the GNC GenetixHD products from Jess, her blog is the second blog I started reading. She is very motivational and I love reading her posts.

IMG_1026

I also decided to eat a Gatorade Prime Energy Chew right before I left on my run. For me the first 2 miles are the hardest, it takes me a long time to get into my groove. So I decided to try one of the chews and hoped it would give me energy threw my whole run, and it did!!

IMG_1027

This run definitely got my spirits high. I’m happy to finally see some progress and I hope to continue to get faster and more in shape.

What do you use to keep you going or give you extra energy during a run?

How do you get past the dreaded first few miles?

 

 

Leave a Reply

