Honey Roasted Chicken Salad

I made one of my August pinterest challenge recipes yesterday….. and today 🙂

But before we get to that…. this morning

I got up nice and early, 8am, to get ready and head to the gym for a workout. When I woke up I drank my pro-sculpt drink ate an english muffin with pb and strawberry jelly and headed out the door to the gym. My plan was to do 30 minutes of running on the treadmill but I only ended up doing 16 minutes. I got to the gym later then I expected and I only have a half hour before bodypump started. Any bodypump goer knows you have to get in there early to set up and pick a spot, it fills up fast.

So 16 minutes on the treadmill….. I did a couple minutes walking warm up and then did some speed work. I did 5.0 for a minute and then 6.5 for 30 seconds. I repeated the running part for 10 minutes and then walked to cool down for like 3 minutes. It was a good quick workout and very sweaty. I really need to work on increasing my speed. Currently I run like 12:30-13 minute miles. My goal is to maybe be running 11 minute miles by the half marathon.

Then…. it was BODYPUMP time!!!!!! I have gone to a bodypump class in the past but I haven’t been back in a while. I loved it but kind of forgot/got lazy 🙂 I just started reading Katie’s blog and she teaches bodypump and that got me inspired to go again. A key to increasing running speed is strength training.

IMG_1031

 

So…..

NEW GOAL…..

Go to bodypump 2-3 times per week!!!! 

Once I got home I made myself a protein shake to drink.

IMG_1034 IMG_1035 IMG_1036

So delicious. I added almond milk, 1 scoop of protein powder, and banana and some frozen mango. Blend it up and DRINK

Now onto the Chicken Salad!!!

I made a batch of the chicken salad yesterday before work.

 IMG_1029

I brought some to work and put it in a tortilla with spinach!!! So unbelievably good

I am currently making a second batch and this time I took lots of photos to give you a step by step.

I had to make a second batch because between Scott and I we ate the whole first batch in one day 🙂 oops

ALL GONE :(

ALL GONE 😦

So the first thing I did was get my chicken boiling…. I put 3 frozen chicken breasts into a pot of water and brought it up to a boil.

IMG_1041

Then I added 1/2 cup of light miracle whip, 1 tbsp of dijon mustard and 1 tbsp of honey to a bowl. Also add a few grinds of salt and pepper (to taste)

IMG_1033

Then I chopped up 4 celery stalks…

IMG_1037

Halved a handful of red grapes…

IMG_1038

And chopped about a 1/2 cup of honey roasted almonds, pecans and cashews. The recipe calls for honey roasted almonds but my store only carried honey roasted mixed nuts so I picked out almonds, pecans and cashews and chopped them up.

IMG_1039

Then I mixed it all up

IMG_1040

By the time you are done chopping everything the chicken should be done. I took it out of the pot and chopped it up into small pieces.

IMG_1042

I let the chicken cool for about 10 minutes before I add it to the bowl. Then mix it up and it is ready to eat. Personally I think it tastes better if you let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours!

My first batch of chicken salad I followed the recipe. Then this second batch I also added chopped yellow pepper. I cant wait to eat it.

The recipe originally comes from Iowa Girl Eats but I first saw the recipe on Running4Cupcakes (it was modified, original recipe calls for yogurt instead of miracle whip) So I made mine with miracle whip instead of yogurt…. either way it is healthy and delicious.

IMG_1043

I will be bringing this again tonight for dinner to work!!

Now to go take a shower and get ready for work

What is your favorite type of strength training?

What do you like to put in your chicken salad?

One thought on “Honey Roasted Chicken Salad

  1. The same thing happened to me the first time I made that chicken salad – I had to make a second batch the next day!! Glad you liked it. And good job getting back to body pump. I love love love body pump (obviously!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

