Weekend Recap 9/9/13

My weekend started on Friday.

Friday morning I headed over to Scott’s dad’s (Don’s) house to check out the tomato plants. I have 6 roma tomato plants in his garden that I bought and he helped me keep them alive over the summer. In the past I haven’t really had much of a green thumb 🙂 With the help of Don I have successfully kept all 6 plants alive!!! YAY!!!

When I went over there I didn’t expect to be leaving with tomatoes. I knew mine wouldn’t quite be ready yet but Don has TONS of tomato plants and he had lots of ripe tomatoes so I went home with a box full.

IMG_1201

I got such a great variety of tomatoes. I went out and loaded myself up with canning supplies and got to work. Canning tomatoes really is a huge production and takes a ton of time. I only had this one little box of tomatoes and it took all morning/afternoon to do. First on the list to do is wash the jars.

IMG_1204

While the jars were in the dishwasher I got started on the tomatoes. Before cooking the sauce you have to put the tomatoes through a grinder to get rid of all of the seeds and skin.

IMG_1202

It was a LONG process to grind all the tomatoes but it is very worth it. The sauce turned out so much better. Once all the tomatoes are done you put them in a pot and let them boil for a long time until it is the consistency that you want. I let mine boil until it was reduced by almost half.

IMG_1203

It boiled for a couple hours to go from full to almost half. Once it was done I added the sauce to the jars. I used pint jars and filled 6 of them. It is crazy the amount of tomatoes you use and it only fills 6 jars. Good thing I have MANY MANY more tomatoes to soon jar.

IMG_1205

Once the jars were filled I put them on the stove to boil. The joy of canning tomatoes is you don’t have to pressure cook them!  You just boil the jars for 30-40 minutes depending on the size of the jar.

I have more plans of canning in the future once my tomatoes are ripe so you will see lots more soon….. I’m planning to do spaghetti sauce and pizza sauce!!

Once the canning was done I headed with my parents up to Vicki and Bill’s (my aunt and uncles) for dinner. When we left I left with the lovely present of a MILLION mosquito bites. Besides that it was a great evening.

Saturday and Sunday were not very eventful. I had orientation for school both saturday and sunday 8am-2pm. Both days were very long at school so we just lounged around and watched movies. I did cook my AMAZING Pasta with Vodka Sauce. It is so delicious and not healthy at all.

IMG_1208 IMG_1209

We had pasta, caesar salad and garlic cheese bread. It was a great dinner.

I used one of Pioneer Woman’s recipes as inspiration but made it my own.

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil

1 chopped onion

1 tbsp minced garlic

1 lb ground beef

1 cup vodka

6oz tomato paste

15oz tomato sauce

1 cup cream

1 pkg pasta

To make the amazing sauce heat a large skillet over medium heat. Also start a pot of water for the pasta. Once it is boiling cook the pasta as directed to on the box. Add the olive oil to the skillet. Once the oil is hot add the onion. Cook for about 5 minutes until the onion is cooked. Then add the garlic and ground beef. Cook until the ground beef is cooked through. Then add the vodka. Let the vodka boil until it has reduced by about half. Once the vodka has reduced add the tomato paste. Stir carefully, it spills over the edge easily. Once it is combined add the tomato sauce. Once again stir carefully until everything is combined. Let the sauce cook for about 5 minutes. Then turn the heat down to low and add the cream. Once the pasta and sauce are done add the cooked pasta to the sauce. Stir to combine and then EAT!! I love adding parmesan cheese to the top.

Hope you all enjoy!

Did you do anything fun this weekend?

Anyone else canning lovers?

5 thoughts on “Weekend Recap 9/9/13

  1. Pingback: Weekend Update 2/10/14 | Alex Run's For Food

Leave a Reply

