Healthy Flat Bread Pizza

I woke up today ready to cook! This morning I whipped out the crockpot to get a beef roast cooking. I added about 1/3 cup water, 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar, 1 chopped onion and a BIG tablespoon of minced garlic. I put it all in the crockpot on high for about 6 hours….. or until you can shred the beef with a fork.

More on the beef later….

I have to say…. I am currently watching Rachael VS. Guy Kids Cook off while I am writing this post. This show is soooooo cute. I can not believe these kids. They are all between 10-12 years old and they have been cooking since they were about 5. Their skills in the kitchen are so impressive!

FOCUS….

After putting the beef in the crockpot I headed over to Don’s to check on the tomato plants. I ended up coming home with another box FULL of tomatoes! I cant wait to get canning again. Next time I head to his place I promise I will remember to take pictures of his amazing gardens.

After Don’s I headed home for some lunch….

Healthy Flat Bread anyone…..

For the flat bread part of the pizza I use Joseph’s Lavash Bread

IMG_1213

Lavash bread is so delicious and healthy for you. You can eat an entire piece for only 100 calories. I placed the lavash bread on a baking sheet, coated it with cooking spray and placed it in a 350 degree oven for about 5ish minutes…. until it starts to brown.

IMG_1215

Then I added diced yellow and red cherry tomatoes, fresh mozzarella cheese and a drizzle of olive oil and placed it back into the oven until the cheese melted.

IMG_1214

Once the cheese was melted I took it out of the oven and drizzled it with balsamic glaze!!

IMG_1216

IMG_1217

It turned out so delicious!! Next time I would add basil…. sort of forgot that 🙂 It tasted so fresh and wasn’t overly filling!

Incase you are wondering…. I found my lavash bread at Kowalski’s. So far that is the only place I have found it….. then of course since I was at Kowalski’s I had to get the mozzarella from there. They make fresh mozzarella daily!!!

After a wonderful lunch I took Maisy outside to play and then we took a nap 🙂

After a lovely nap I headed to Target….. For those of you who do not know me, Target is my FAVORITE store!!! My mom works for Target headquarters so I have grown up shopping there. I could spend a lot of time and money at Target.

While I was at Target I decided to treat myself….

Treat-Yourself-Tuesday-Badge

According to Olives N Wine it is #treatyourselftuesday so I headed to the kitchen appliance section….

I have been eyeing the Keurig’s for a while now… so I decided what the heck…. it is treat yourself tuesday!

IMG_1220 IMG_1222

IMG_1223

I cant wait to try these babies!!! I really love treat yourself tuesday 🙂 Thanks Becky for an excuse to buy the Keurig!!

After Target it was time to check on the roast…

IMG_1218

(That pic was taken this morning when I put it in the crockpot)

When it was fork shreddable I took the meat out of the crockpot and shredded it. I discarded all of the fat and bones. Once it was shredded it was sandwich time 🙂

IMG_1224

I bought whole wheat knot buns from kowalski’s. I split the bun in half, added some shredded meat, BBQ sauce and dill pickle slices.

IMG_1225

The sandwiches turned out very yummy. It was a great dinner. I love a day full of cooking 🙂

Did you cook anything wonderful today?

Did you treat yourself at all today?

3 thoughts on “Healthy Flat Bread Pizza

  1. Okay, there are SO many things I love about this post! First of all, that flatbread. YUM!! I need to find lavish bread – I’m heading to the market today so I’ll ask to see if anyone carries it. Second of all, I used to work for Target HQ too! What area does your mom work in? Three, way to go on treating yourself!! Everyone needs coffee so I definitely think it was a great investment 🙂 AND four, are you going to HLS??!

    • My mom works in product development and design. She loves target hq.
      as for HLS I am not going. I literally just started blogging in July and back then I was afraid I’d be all alone the whole time and wouldn’t know anyone 🙂 and I would sign up now but I already signed up for the suds run 5k and its on Saturday. I know I will be missing out but at least I will get to see a recap of it on everyone’s blog.

  2. Pingback: Treat Yourself Tuesday #2 | Alex Run's For Food

Leave a Reply

