Weekend Update 9/22/13

Friday I worked a day shift… 7am-330pm After work I picked up Maisy and headed to my parents house. We had plans to go to Mall of America (MOA). Mom had to pick up her packet for the Iron Girl Bloomington Duathalon and I wanted to check out the new Iphone c at the Apple store… I was due for an upgrade so I figured I would check it out and see if they had any in stock.

And they did!!!

IMG_0022

I ended up trading in my old iPhone 4s and got $170 for it! I couldn’t believe they game me that much for it. So I put that money towards my new phone and got the 32gb Pink iPhone c with a yellow case. I really love it so far. The camera is amazing compared to my old 4s.

After getting the phone we headed to dinner. We decided to go to Fire Lake Grill House at MOA and it was amazing.

IMG_0001 IMG_0002

I had a turkey burger with brie and caramelized onions. SO DELICIOUS!

Saturday I woke up with a lovely headache. I took some tylenol and tried to go back to sleep for a while. Of course Maisy decided I was not allowed to go back to bed so my headache did not go away. I rested for most of the afternoon and then when the headache finally went away early that evening I headed to my moms house with a couple great recipes in mind.

First up is my Greek Pasta Salad. A couple of years ago I just threw all of the ingredients together and it turned out so good. I brought some over to my parents and my mom called me all excited asking where I found the recipe for the pasta salad. I told her I just made it up. She was so amazed she said I needed to enter it into a recipe contest. I have past this recipe on to many people and everyone raves about it.

Greek Pasta Salad

Ingredients

1 pgk Orzo Pasta

1 lemon

olive oil

basil pesto

kalamata black olives

red pepper

banana peppers

pickled jalapeños

Sun dried tomatoes

feta

Dressing

Balsamic Glaze (found at target)

OR Homemade Dressing: Balsamic vinegar, olive oil, mustard, salt, pepper and herbs de provence mixed together!

First start a big pot of water. Bring to boil and cook pasta as directed on the package.

IMG_1139

IMG_1149

Squeeze 1 lemon into a large bowl. Add about 2 tbsp of olive oil. Add about 3 tbsp basil pesto. Chop the rest of the ingredients and add to the bowl. The best part about this recipe is you can add as little or as much of the veggies as you want. I like to add lots!

IMG_1140 IMG_1145

IMG_1143 IMG_1147

Then just mix it all together. I wait to add the feta until the pasta salad has cooled. I also add enough basil pesto (you may need more then 3 tbsp) to lightly coat the salad so it doesn’t stick together. Then save the dressing for drizzling on when you dish it up.

IMG_1216

This glaze is very good if you dont want to make your own balsamic dressing.

IMG_1151

All mixed up…

IMG_1169

So delicious!! I promise you wont be disappointed 🙂

Now to keep the Mediterranean theme going…. we had a Mediterranean flatbread pizza to eat with our pasta salad. I looked on pinterest for inspiration but ended up just winging it!

First I put the premade flatbread crust on a pizza stone. I spread sun dried tomato pesto on it and added prosciutto.

IMG_1153 IMG_1154

IMG_1157 IMG_1159

I added this to a 400 degree oven for like 2 minutes. Just to slightly crisp the prosciutto.

Then I chopped up mushrooms, marinated artichoke hearts, banana peppers and kalamata olives and spread them on the flatbread.

IMG_1161

Then I added some shredded mozzarella and feta. I put it back into the oven for about 10 minutes. Until the cheese melts and the flatbread is crispy.

While that was baking I made a homemade vinaigrette. Squeeze juice of 1 lemon, 2 tbsp olive oil, mustard, salt and pepper into a small bowl. Whisk together. Then add a couple cups of Spinach/Arugula salad mix. Top pizza with the fresh salad.

IMG_1163

IMG_1172

IMG_1170

This flatbread pizza turned out way better then I ever imagined it could! Our meal was so good!!!! My mom really loved it. I highly recommend both recipes.

After eating a wonderful meal we watched Safe Haven and then went to bed.

We had a SUPER early morning Sunday. I headed to the Iron Girl Bloomington Duathalon with my mom. Since my dad couldn’t make it I was her cheerer!

IMG_1179

Waiting for the start.

Mom ran 2 miles, biked 22 miles and then ran 2 miles. She did such a great job. She improved her transition times from last year and she beat her last years time by 2 minutes. I really liked watching the Iron Girl. I took lots of great photos.

IMG_2144

Coming in from her first run… She ran the 2 miles in 13 minutes and 40 seconds! SPEEDY

IMG_2148

Heading out on her bike.

IMG_2162 IMG_2163

Beautiful finish line area!

IMG_2168

First finisher crossing the finish line.

IMG_2183 IMG_2190

Mom finishing!! She did so great.

After Iron Girl we headed home. I took a nap and then Scott and I headed to his brother and sister in laws house for our niece and nephews birthday party. Finley turned 3 in September and Annabelle turns 6 in October. They are at such a fun age right now. Finley was hilarious…. He informed us that Green tractors are the good ones, red ones are no good. (Scott’s uncle owns a farm, they drive green tractors 🙂

IMG_1184 IMG_1189

Blowing out candles!!

IMG_1196

Present time 🙂

IMG_1197

James thought he needed to help Annabelle and Finley.

IMG_1202

Cool dude sun glasses!

I might be a little biased but I think they are the cutest ever!! Love them very much!! It is really fun to watch them grow up.

So it was a very fun filled weekend…. lots of studying coming up this week. First test is on Thursday!!

What did you do over the weekend?

Who’s trying those amazing recipes? 🙂

4 thoughts on “Weekend Update 9/22/13

  1. 1. Your mom is a rockstar! I am totally jealous of her time!
    2. I got you confused with Alex Tries it Out on twitter and asked her how her mom did, super embarrassing!
    3. The food looks delicious!
    4. I am super impressed that you got $170 for your phone, I thought the payments were an urban myth.

  2. Pingback: Elf4Health Challenge 12/8/13 | Alex Run's For Food

Leave a Reply

