Homemade Crockpot Apple Sauce

Once again I’ve got a very busy week ahead of me…

I have clinicals monday and tuesday, work and swimming with my mom wednesday, work and school thursday and friday is relax day 🙂

Over the weekend I made some super delicious homemade apple sauce. The best part about it is it sits in a crockpot for most of the day. Prep work is simple… peel and dice as many apples as will pit into your crockpot!! I enlisted my amazing apple peeling husband to help me with the prep. He peeled I diced! Marriage is about teamwork right ? 🙂

Image 1

Once the crockpot was full I poured in 1/4 cup water and as much cinnamon and nutmeg as desired. Scott LOVES cinnamon applesauce so I probably put about 2 big tbsp in. And I added about 1 tsp fresh ground nutmeg. Don’t over do the nutmeg!!!

Image

IMG_1227

Once the crockpot is full…. mix it up, put the lid on and put it on low.

Let it cook on low for about 6-8 hours. You will know it is done because all of the apples will mush up when you stir it. If you like your applesauce chunky then just use a spoon or potato masher to get the consistency you like. I like smooth applesauce so I used my immersion blender and within 20 seconds it was super smooth!!!

IMG_1228

Looks so wonderful. SIDE NOTE: Since my apples were SUPER tart I did add a little drizzle of honey to help take the edge off. You could also add sugar or brown sugar. I figured honey was the healthiest sweetener. I added the honey when I added the cinnamon and nutmeg.

Once it was smooth I dished it into mason jars.

IMG_1230

Then into the fridge it went…. Once it fully cooled I put the jars into the freezer! Can’t wait eat all the yummy apple sauce.

Have you ever made homemade apple sauce?

Whats your favorite crockpot dish?

I’ve got a roast with potatoes, carrots and onions cooking up right now 🙂

3 thoughts on “Homemade Crockpot Apple Sauce

Leave a Reply

