Better Then Take-Out Beef and Broccoli

Boy do I have a treat for you guys…. but first…

I am sorry I have been MIA for the last week. I literally had class, clinicals or work everyday for the past week.  Over the weekend along with work I cleaned and watched my parent’s dog Zoey.

IMG_1369

I’m so excited to relax tonight!! I’m catching up on some of my favorite TV shows tonight.

Tomorrow I hope to make a yummy recipe of some sort…. maybe chili 🙂 and I also need to workout tomorrow morning!

Now for the amazing recipe…

Better Then Take-Out Beef and Broccoli

IMG_1373

For the meat and marinade:

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp sugar

1 tbsp cornstarch

1 tbsp soy sauce (I used reduced sodium)

1 tbsp water

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1 1/2 lbs. flank steak (I used sirloin steak)

Cut the steak into thinly sliced pieces. Whisk the rest of the above ingredients together and add to the steak. Mix around and marinade for atleast 1 hour. Once the beef is done marinading proceed to below.

1/2 c. low sodium soy sauce

2 tbsp brown sugar

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 tbsp flour

1 tbsp sherry (if you dont have this leave it out)

3 tbsp vegetable oil

2 heads broccoli, crowns only, chopped

1. In a small bowl, stir together the soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic, flour and sherry until smooth. Set aside.

2. In a large saute pan, heat 2 tbsp of vegetable oil over high heat until simmering. Add broccoli and sauté for 3 minutes, stirring often. Transfer broccoli to a plate.

3. Reduce heat to medium high. Carefully add the remaining tbsp of vegetable oil to the hot pan. Add the marinated meat and half of the sauce mixture and sauté for 3-5 minutes, stirring often, until the meat is cooked to your liking. Stir in broccoli and remaining sauce. Sauté 1 minute more. Serve with a side of brown rice!

Enjoy

Recipe also found here!

What’s your favorite chinese takeout?? 

What are you cooking this week?

Leave a Reply

