Fit Family Lifestyles Month

Did you all have a great weekend? Mine was pretty low key.

In honor of Scott and I heading for vacation in SIX days I have a guest post for you all! Kendra Thornton wrote a great article with some tips on how to keep your family happy and healthy while on vacation. There are some great tips for those of you with kiddos.

Image

Five Ways To Keep Your Family Healthy and Happy on Vacation

If you want to look good, you need to feel great! It’s always been a saying that works for me. As a mom to three kids, I have to be active and strong!

Image 1

There are some valuable tips I’ve picked up over the years that keep me at my best. In honor of this month’s Fit Family Lifestyles, I’m here to share five ways I stay healthy while traveling.

1. Start off the day with a good breakfast

Before you head off to a theme park, beach, day of skiing or whatever it may be with the kids, encourage everyone to eat a balanced breakfast beforehand. It will help you save money during your trip and you’ll be more likely to choose healthier food choices at the beginning of the day. Most hotels include breakfast options in your room rate.

Editors note: I definitely agree with starting your day off with a good breakfast. I’m the worst at eating a nutrition breakfast in the morning (or any breakfast at all) but I feel and eat much better on days that I do eat breakfast. 

2. Take some snacks along with you

Before you head out during the day, plan out a few snacks that will keep your family satisfied. With sliced fruits, pretzels and some homemade trail mix in your bag, it’s easier to keep your kids feeling great before dinnertime. Go on and throw some M&Ms in there just in case you get a craving for something sweet!

3. Recreate their sleeping environment

It’s important for your children to get great sleep while you’re traveling. In order to make your child’s sleep peaceful and sound, recreate their sleeping environment to the best of your ability. Pack their special blanket, sound machine, pacifier or favorite book.

4. Gather souvenirs

Taking trips with your family allows you all to create memories together. During the day, ask your kids to draw or list what their favorite activities were on vacation. Have them collect postcards and souvenirs that mean something to them. This way, they’ll have a collection of mementos to look back on once they’re older. I always like pre-planning to go on active journey’s with my family throughout the day – whether it is sightseeing, a hike, or a walk down the beach because I find that the more active my kids are, the happier they are.

Editors Note: LOVE collecting souvenirs!!!! It’s a great way to remember your vacation. 

5. Keep your hands clean

Keeping your hands washed isn’t just a good habit, it can keep you healthy for weeks to come. According to an SCA survey, four out of 10 adults don’t wash their hands after coughing, sneezing or blowing their nose. Kids have an even harder time keeping sanitized than grownups! Encourage everyone to wash their hands often.

When every family member feels happy and healthy, traveling can be an absolute blast. While you prepare for your trip, keep in mind these great techniques that will make your trip memorable and fantastic.

Kendra can be found on twitter @KendraThornton

Even though I don’t have kids these are great tips for even me. Plus my hubby is kind of like a big kid 🙂 I hope you all enjoyed the guest post!

Leave a Reply

