First Nursing Job

So as you all probably know I graduated nursing school in December and passed my NCLEX  RN exam at the end of January.

I also mentioned that I had an interview for a RN position at the hospital I work at as part of their new grad program. On the same day that I found out that I passed my boards I also found out that I did not get the job.

I’m not going to lie I thought I had nothing to worry about with getting the job so I was SHOCKED when I found out I didn’t get it. They had so many internal employees apply and only had about 8 spots so I didn’t make the cut. I was super sad for a couple days but then I got over it. I always try to remember that everything happens for a reason and I must not have been meant to start there yet.

I then started applying at Home Care agencies for a RN position. On Tuesday this week I accepted my first RN job at a home care agency. They have two pediatric clients that they are going to train me to work with! I’m very excited to still be able to work with kids.

nurse_1

I am keeping my hospital job, I went casual meaning I only have to work once a month. My plan is to apply for the July new grad program. Hopefully I was meant to start in July 🙂

Nursing

Yay For Having a Big Girl Job 🙂

2 thoughts on “First Nursing Job

  1. Job search and really anything you apply for can be stressful, I’ve definitely had that “thought I had it” situation only to not get it. I agree, it definitely happened for a reason. You will be just fine!

Leave a Reply

